Our Blog

Seven MODUS stars made it through to round two of the PDC’s inaugural European Tour event with victories in the Austrian Darts Open on Friday.

James Wade hit some monster checkouts

James Wade, Raymond van Barneveld, Simon Whitlock, Mark Webster, Vincent van der Voort, Co Stompe and Michael van Gerwen all won their respective first round matches at the Arena Nova in Wiener Neustadt.

World number three Wade hit fabulous finishes of 160 and 142 in his 6-3 triumph over Prakash Jiwa, while Whitlock beat Mareno Michels 6-4.

Legendary Dutchman van Barneveld edged past promising youngster Arron Monk with a 6-4 victory, while his compatriot van der Voort defeated Darren Webster 6-3.

Van Gerwen averaged over 100 in his 6-4 success over Mervyn King, and fellow Dutchman Co Stompe beat Ross Smith 6-3, while Webster beat Jelle Klaasen by the same score, but Paul Nicholson suffered an early exit at the hands of Dean Winstanley.

The second round pairs Webster against Alan Tabern in the afternoon session, when van der Voort is also back in action. ‘The Dutch Destroyer’ faces Kim Huybrechts.

MODUS’ Premier League trio all take to the stage in the evening session; with Wade facing Steve Beaton before ‘Barney’ and Whitlock take on Colin Osborne and Joe Cullen respectively.

The evening session will also see Stompe go head to head with Gary Anderson, while van Gerwen runs into the top performer of round one, when he faces Colin Lloyd, who posted an impressive average of 111.

By Chris Murphy

European Tour Event One – Austrian Darts Open
Friday April 27
First Round Results (involving MODUS players)
Mark Webster 6-3 Jelle Klaasen
Paul Nicholson 3-6 Dean Winstanley
Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Darren Webster
Co Stompe 6-3 Ross Smith
Simon Whitlock 6-4 Mareno Michels
James Wade 6-3 Prakash Jiwa
Raymond van Barneveld 6-4 Arron Monk
Mervyn King 4-6 Michael van Gerwen

Saturday April 28
Second Round (involving MODUS players)
Afternoon Session – 1pm start
Mark Webster v Alan Tabern
Vincent van der Voort v Kim Huybrechts

Evening Session – 7pm start
Gary Anderson v Co Stompe
James Wade v Steve Beaton
Colin Lloyd v Michael van Gerwen
Raymond van Barneveld v Colin Osborne
Simon Whitlock v Joe Cullen

Comments ( 0 )

    Play the Pro