Our Blog

THE second PDC World Cup of Darts will be held in Hamburg, Germany from February 3-5 2012, and screened live on Sky Sports.

The tournament was a huge success when first staged in December 2010, with the Dutch pair of Raymond van Barneveld and Co Stompe taking victory for the Netherlands.

They defeated the Welsh team of Mark Webster and Barrie Bates in the final, while Australia and Spain lit up the tournament in their runs to the semis.

Next year’s 24-team event will be held across three days from February 3-5 at the Alsterdorfer Sporthalle in Hamburg.

Each team will feature the leading two PDPA members from each nation on the PDC Order of Merit at January 3 2012 following the forthcoming Ladbrokes World Darts Championship.

In the event that this does not produce 24 competing nations, further nations which have two players featured on the PDC’s Order of Merit* who are not full PDPA members shall be included.

In the event that this still does not produce 24 competing nations, further nations will be invited to participate at the discretion of the PDC’s Board of Directors.

The 24 nations will be seeded from 1-24 based on a cumulative total of the competing players’ ranking position, with the lowest total seeded 1 and the highest total seeded 24. For example, should Phil Taylor (1) and Adrian Lewis (2) represent England, their cumulative total would be 3.

The top eight seeds will come in at the second round stage, with the countries ranked 9-24 competing in the first round on Friday afternoon.

Comments ( 0 )

    Play the Pro