Our Blog

FOUR MODUS stars will compete in this weekend’s televised bwin World Series of Darts Finals in Vienna, where Michael van Gerwen is defending the title he has won every year since its inaugural staging in 2015.

Van Gerwen, who picked up the title in each of the last three years at Glasgow’s Braehead Arena, will be joined by Simon Whitlock, Jamie Lewis and Keegan Brown in the tournament’s new home of the Multiversum Schwechat in Austria.

World number one van Gerwen takes on the winner of a first round match between Maik Langendorf and Damon Heta when he enters the action on Saturday evening.

Last weekend’s Unibet European Championship runner-up Simon Whitlock also enters in the second round as a seeded player and will face either Steve Beaton or Daryl Gurney.

Former World Youth Champion Brown is in action in the opening match of the tournament on Friday evening when he face Raymond Smith for the right to take on Raymond Van Barneveld in round two.

World Championship semi-finalist Lewis meets Belgium’s Dimitri Van Den Bergh in round one, with the winner going up against Rob Cross in the second round.

The £250,000 tournament begins on Friday November 2 with the first round, with the seeded stars entering the action in Saturday night’s second round.

Sunday’s decisive final day sees the quarter-finals in the afternoon session and the semi-finals and final in the evening session.

The tournament will be broadcast live on ITV4 and through the PDC’s worldwide broadcast partners, as well as through PDCTV-HD for Rest of the World Subscribers.

Play the Pro