Our Blog

DEFENDING WORLD GRAND PRIX CHAMPION MICHAEL VAN GERWEN leads a field that includes six MODUS stars in competing for the prestigious title in Dublin next month. 

The full line up for the unique ‘Double in, Double out’ tournament was announced on Monday, following the final event before the cut-off for qualification – the German Darts Grand Prix, which was won by Van Gerwen.

As the world number one, Van Gerwen qualifies as one of the eight seeded players on show at the CityWest.

Simon Whitlock’s return to the top 16, following his run to the semi-finals of last weekend’s European Tour event, also sees him earn a place via the PDC Order of Merit.

2015 World Grand Prix Champion Robert Thornton also has the chance to defend his prize money from two years ago by qualifying through the PDC Order of Merit.

Earning their places via the ProTour order of merit are former Grand Prix Quarter-Finalist John Henderson, Steve West – who defeated 11-time champion Phil Taylor in Dublin last year – and Richard North, who has impressively claimed a place in his debut season as professional.

The Unibet World Grand Prix will be held from October 1-7 at the Citywest Hotel in Dublin and broadcast live on Sky Sports.

Play the Pro