Our Blog

The William Hill World Darts Championship resumes on Wednesday with Michael Van Gerwen, Vincent Van der Voort, John Henderson, Keegan Brown, Steve West and Simon Whitlock all still in contention for the £400,000 title at London’s Alexandra Palace. 

Whitlock takes on Darren Webster on Wednesday afternoon to join the other five MODUS-represented players in the last 16 stage.

The Australian ace defeated Germany’s Martin Schindler in round one.

Reigning World Champion Van Gerwen continues his defence of the Sid Waddell Trophy on Wednesday evening, when Dutch compatriot Van der Voort is also in third round action.

Van Gerwen has ruthlessly dispatched of Christian Kist and James Wilson to set up a last 16 clash with Wales’ Gerwyn Price.

The world number one didn’t drop a single leg in his straight sets (4-0) defeat of Wilson in the second round.

Van der Voort is yet to lose a set in this year’s tournament following impressive victories against Dave Chisnall (3-0) and Steve Beaton (4-0).

He takes on five-time World Champion Raymond Van Barneveld on Wednesday evening for a potential quarter-final meeting against Van Gerwen.

Scottish ace Henderson knocked out number four seed Daryl Gurney to reach the last 16 after seeing off Marko Kantele in round one.

Henderson’s 4-2 success saw Gurney become the highest seed to depart the tournament so far – and the World Grand Prix semi-finalists reward is a meeting with Rob Cross on Thursday afternoon.

Former World Youth Champion Keegan Brown will enjoy a dream tie with Phil Taylor on Thursday evening in the 16-time World Champion’s final tournament before retirement.

Brown has defeated James Wade and Zoran Lerchbacher to reach the third round for the first time in his career.

Steve West is also enjoying his best ever run, having knocked out Benito Van de Pas and Jermaine Wattimena. He will take on two-time World Champion Gary Anderson in round three.

The quarter-finals will be played across two sessions on Friday, with the semi-finals taking place on Saturday evening before the final on New Year’s Day.


Play the Pro