Our Blog

A fantastic night of top class professional darts took place on Saturday evening as The Money Shop Untouchables, in association with Choice Bet and Ace High, returned to the Portsmouth Pyramids Centre for the third time.

Around 750 fans packed out the Pyramids to see Michael van Gerwen edge out James Wade in the final to take the title on a wonderful evening of action.

van Gerwen began his run with a 4-1 defeat of local favourite Andy Jenkins in the quarter-finals, with Wade triumphing 4-0 against Co Stompe at that stage.

Simon Whitlock and Vincent van der Voort were the other quarter-final winners, with ‘The Wizard’ sneaking a last leg decider against Arron Monk, while van der Voort pipped Raymond van Barneveld, also winning 4-3.

‘Barney’ had kicked off the evening’s action with a victory against 16-year-old Harry Annals, who had won through the Petersfield Unicorn Under-18 academy to seal his place at the event.

van Gerwen and Wade then both claimed semi-final victories before the Dutchman clinched a 5-3 success in the final.

“It was a fantastic night and I would like to thank the fans,” said ‘Mighty Mike’.

“We all love to play in an event like this because it is almost like a TV tournament and that kind of preparation for the World Championships is great for us.

“The crowd were fantastic and it was good to meet a few of them before, during and after a brilliant event.”

The night started with a VIP reception, hosted by Sky Sports’ John Gwynne, the event’s MC, where he was joined by the players and special guest Rod Harrington, before moving through to the main event.

The action was presided over by PDC referee George Noble and the players were accompanied to the stage by the ever-popular walk-on girls Erica Wild and Sarah Tunnicliffe.

All at MODUS would like to extend a massive thank you to all the players, staff, guests, sponsors, and most importantly the fans for making the show a huge success once again.

By Chris Murphy

Click here to see ticket options for the 2013 Charlton Masters featuring Adrian Lewis, Paul Nicholson, Ted Hankey and Arron Monk.

Comments ( 0 )

    Play the Pro