Our Blog


MICHAEL VAN GERWEN claimed his ninth title of 2018 by winning Players Championship Nine in Wigan on Saturday, while Jonny Clayton continued his impressive form by reaching the final the following day.

World number one Van Gerwen stormed to victory in Saturday’s event, defeating Scott Taylor in the final.

The Dutchman had seen off Clayton in the quarter-final and James Wade in the last four.

But Clayton turned the tables on Sunday, averaging 111 in a 6-4 defeat of the Van Gerwen before going on to beat Stephen Bunting in the semi-finals.

The Welsh ace was edged out 6-5 by Jeffrey De Zwaan in the decider – just seven days after being crowned Austrian Darts Open champion.

Play the Pro