Our Blog

Michael van Gerwen stormed to victory in the sixth and final UK Open qualifier of 2014, as the field for the televised finals took shape in Wigan.

van Gerwen defeated Michael Smith 6-0 in Sunday’s final to clinch the £10,000 first prize and his second title since becoming World Champion and world number one on New Year’s Day.

The Dutchman tops the list of qualifiers for the UK Open finals, which take place from the 7-9 March in Minehead.

And as one of the top 32 earners over the six qualifying events, ‘Mighty Mike’ goes straight into the third round of the tournament.

Also kicking off their campaign in round three are Robert Thornton, who reached Saturday’s final,  two-time UK Open winner James Wade, Simon Whitlock, Mark Webster, Paul Nicholson and Vincent van der Voort, who showed good form with successive runs the last eight on Saturday and Sunday.

Youngster Keegan Brown and Scotland’s John Henderson did enough to earn places in the second round by finishing between 33rd and 64th on the Order of Merit, while former World Youth Champions James Hubbard and Arron Monk also qualified.

22-year-old Chris Aubrey and Spain’s Antonio Alcinas also booked their places in the tournament.

The draw for the 2014 UK Open finals will take place on Monday 24 February.

Play the Pro