Our Blog

Simon Whitlock, Michael van Gerwen and Vincent van der Voort all won through to the second round of the World Darts Championship at Alexandra Palace on Tuesday evening.

Whitlock averaged 97 in a straight sets victory over Ross Smith, while van Gerwen dropped just a single leg in his win against Austrian qualifier Zoran Lerchbacher and van der Voort saw off Matt Smith, winning by three sets to one.

Simon Whitlock 3 – 0 Ross Smith – Match Report

Michael van Gerwen 3 – 0 Zoran Lerchbacher – Match Report

Vincent van der Voort 3 – 1 Matt Clark – Match Report

Australia’s Beau Anderson caused an upset in the evening’s other match, knocking out former world number one Colin Lloyd.

By Chris Murphy


Match reports, news and updates will be posted here and on the players’ official websites throughout the 2014 World Darts Championship.

Follow us on twitter @modusdarts180

Facebook: MODUS Darts

Audioboo: MODUSdarts180

Visit our online shop www.dartshop.tv for exclusive event tickets and official player merchandise.

Official player websites: www.michaelvangerwen.tv www.simonwhitlock.tv www.jameswade.tv www.robertthornton.co.uk www.barneyuk.tv www.paulnicholson.tv www.markwebster.tv www.vvdvoort.tv

Play the Pro