Our Blog

Double World Grand Prix champion James Wade will take on Steve Beaton in the opening round of this year’s tournament in Dublin, where Michael van Gerwen will begin his title defence against Canada’s John Part.

Wade, who returned to action at the German Darts Masters last week, will face Beaton, who won that tournament, as ‘The Machine’ bids to clinch an eighth major title.

The Aldershot ace won the double-start event in 2007 and 2010.

Defending champion van Gerwen continues his hunt for a third PDC major when he faces three-time World Champion Part at the CityWest Hotel.

The Dutch star, who also won this year’s Premier League, will face former Grand Prix finalist Part in the first round, which takes place between Monday October 7 and Tuesday October 8.

Simon Whitlock, the number four seed, was drawn against Northern Ireland’s Michael Mansell when the draw was made on Sunday.

Robert Thornton and Paul Nicholson will meet in the opening round, while Raymond van Barneveld will take on Stuart Kellet.

The schedule of play will be announced in due course.


By Chris Murphy


World Grand Prix
First Round Draw & Tournament Bracket

Phil Taylor (1) v Jamie Caven
Paul Nicholson v Robert Thornton
Wes Newton (8) v Peter Wright
Gary Anderson v Jelle Klaasen
James Wade (5) v Steve Beaton
Connie Finnan v Terry Jenkins
Simon Whitlock (4) v Michael Mansell
Ronnie Baxter v Colin Lloyd
Michael van Gerwen (2) v John Part
Stuart Kellett v Raymond van Barneveld
Dave Chisnall (7) v Ian White
Wayne Jones v Mervyn King
Andy Hamilton (6) v Kim Huybrechts
Kevin Painter v Richie Burnett
Adrian Lewis (3) v Brendan Dolan
Justin Pipe v Andy Smith

Play the Pro